The Staybridge Suites Baltimore located just a few steps from the Inner Harbor was originally designed as a five-story wood frame Renaissance Revival building for the Commerce and Exchange serving the Port of Baltimore. It was completely destroyed with the exception of masonry vaults, in the Great Baltimore Fire of 1904 and was re-built immediately thereafter as a masonry and steel structure, re-using the masonry vaults and building foundations. Since then, the building has had several different uses as the center of the city’s grain trade, a culinary school, and most recently, a higher education facility up until this conversion and revitalization.
While maintaining many of the historic features of the building, Waldon Studio Architects converted the school building into a Staybridge Suites hotel with 101-rooms. In addition to a unique lobby, the commercial extended-stay hotel includes spacious rooms, fully equipped kitchens and high ceilings taking advantage of the tall historic window openings. The original abandoned 1905 water-hydraulic elevator system and bird-cage elevators were refinished and put back into service with new code-compliant elevator equipment, restoring the floor lobbies to their original grandeur.
Commerce Hospitality Investments, LLC
Historic Tax Credits